Latest News

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pete and Carl with BBC Countryfile's Anita Rani whilst filming a piece on searching with drones.

NEWSFLASH

Congratulations to Pete Roberts, a Director, Trustee and founder of the Centre for Search Research on receiving two national awards recently.

Pete, who in January 2023, reached the significant milestone of fifty years active service as a Mountain Rescue volunteer, had his contribution to Mountain Rescue and in particular to the development and advancement of search and search management techniques recognised with the presentation of a Mountain Rescue Distinguished Service Award by Mountain Rescue England and Wales at their AGM in Warrington.

At the same meeting, Pete was also presented with the National Police Search Governance Board Award for 2023 for Lifetime Achievement. This award was presented by Chief Inspector Mark Sweeney of the Police National Search Centre, and it is believed that this is the first time that this award has been made to anyone from Mountain Rescue.

Well done Pete, thoroughly well-deserved recognition of your lifetimes dedication and commitment to Mountain Rescue and the development and improvement of techniques used for missing persons search.

Upcoming Events

When What Who Where
Saturday, January 21, 2023 Field Search Skills Glen of Imaal MRT Glenn of Imaal
Sunday, January 22, 2023 Field Search Skills (1) Glen of Imaal MRT Glen of Imaal
Saturday, February 11, 2023 Field Search Skills - Train the Trainer Garda Costa na hEirann - Irish Coast Guard Killaloe
Sunday, February 12, 2023 Train the Trainer Advice Workshop Garda Costa na hEirann - Irish Coast Guard Killaloe
Saturday, March 25, 2023 Initial Response Search Management Garda Costa na hEirann - Irish Coast Guard Dublin
Saturday, April 22, 2023 Initial Response Search Management Glen of Imaal MRT Glen of Imaal
Sunday, April 23, 2023 Initial Response Search Management Glen of Imaal MRT Glen of Imaal
Friday, October 13, 2023 - Sunday, October 15, 2023 Field Skills Train the Trainer Assessment Cohort 1 Garda Costa na hEirann - Irish Coast Guard TBA
Friday, November 10, 2023 - Saturday, November 11, 2023 Field Skills Train the Trainer Assessment - Cohort 2 Garda Costa na hEirann - Irish Coast Guard TBA
Saturday, December 2, 2023 Initial Response Search Management Garda Costa na hEirann - Irish Coast Guard Dublin
Saturday, February 10, 2024 Field Search Skills Course North West Mountain Rescue Team TBA
Saturday, March 2, 2024 Initial Response Search Management Dublin Wicklow Mountain Rescue Team Glendalough
Sunday, March 3, 2024 Search Management After the Initial Response Dublin Wicklow Mountain Rescue Team Glendalough

Loading...